and then there were four

I wish we had a laptop. Blogging in bed would be so much easier. But since I’m typing this on my phone, it might not be as lengthy or detailed as it could/should be.

So baby Clare is here. She’s eight days old. Swaddled up, lying on my legs. She looks so much like Mary as a newborn. Very very cute, of course.

I woke up at five a.m. on Thursday, May 3rd. I was feeling cramps that turned into contractions fairly quickly. I started timing them, and since they were five minutes apart, I showered, then woke Mark. By the time he was ready and Mary was waking up, the contractions were getting more painful. We dropped Mary off at my brother’s house, and went to the hospital.

I was 6 cm dilated when they first checked me, and I asked for an epidural. By the time the anesthesiologist got to me, my water had broken on its own, I was an eight and really hurting. And as soon as he walked out, I was a ten! I could still feel everything and the urge to push was crazy, but the nurse suggested we wait. She said if I let the epidural kick in and let Clare drop more, the pushing stage would be shorter. I also think she was trying to delay me because the doctor (not my regular OB because she was out of town) was very busy that morning. The contractions hurt so much, but I knew delivery would be very soon, and so between each contraction I’d talk excitedly to Mark, wondering what she’d look like, how much she would weigh… I had a lot of adrenaline, I think. Then the pain & pressure went away, and I was able to relax for awhile. I did get those crazy chills/shakes that some women get during labor. I think it freaked Mark out a tiny bit. Our nurse came in and asked me to give a real easy “practice push” and saw that it was go time. The doctor and a bunch of nurses (for me and baby) came in, I pushed through three contractions (not feeling a darn thing, thank you epidural), and out came our beautiful Clare Frances.

🙂

Life is going good. Hopefully I’ll blog soon about our first few days at home and my adventure in newborn cloth-diapering.

Until then, here’s some iPhone pics:

20120511-214752.jpg

20120511-214812.jpg

20120511-214912.jpg

20120511-214933.jpg

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

