framed fortunes

I think I wrote a long time ago about a frame I bought from Target on clearance for less than $3. And I showed that I spray painted over the generic quote and designs? And I told you how I got spray paint on the front porch and my awesome husband wasn’t amused? Hmm. Maybe I left that part out.

Anyways…since it’s Tuesday (and more importantly a Tuesday that Mark worked his extra job), I was finally motivated to finish it up.

It took a whopping five minutes, maybe.

And I even hung it!

20110809-085034.jpg

20110809-085055.jpg

Hopefully you can read the sweet fortunes. They are from Pei Wei’s. I had worked one day back in November of 2009, and after I got off I met Mark and two of his squadmates for dinner. I did that a lot when he worked third shift. It was fun, but expensive. I had taken a pregnancy test a few days earlier and it was negative, but Mark thought I should test again, because maybe I had tested too early. He actually suggested I swing by the house to either take a test before dinner or bring it to the restaurant bathroom!! What a goof. πŸ™‚ I ignored those ideas, we ate dinner (and cake for Sam’s birthday), and I saved the lovely-sounding fortunes. Later that night I called Mark while he was patrolling to say that the second test was positive. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I really don’t take stock in fortune cookies, and I really don’t like Chinese food that much, but I’m glad this little piece of artwork is hanging in our bedroom. It definitely reminds me of one of the best nights of our life.

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in TuesDIY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to framed fortunes

  1. danardoyle says:

    What a cool story and neat momento you made. That is definitely something you will always remember and could perhaps share with your little one some day!

Leave a Reply

