it adds up

20110805-115715.jpg

Lately I’ve been thinking about how lots of little purchases add up to a lot of money. It’s obvious, of course, but easy to ignore.

I was wondering yesterday how much I/we spend on soda each month. We don’t always buy it at the grocery store, and when we do it’s always on sale or it’s some awesome generic like Diet Dr Thunder. We always order it at restaurants and you know that’s pricey! Sometimes I really do feel dependent on caffeine, but I want to make an effort to cut back.

Another little thing that added up was a recent Redbox rental. Thanks to us upgrading to the Bluray and forgetting to return it the next day, our “cheap” date cost us $6.51.

Oh, and we got a $5 giftcard from our neighborhood Walmart as a promotion after their recent remodel. But, even though I knew it has to be activated by a certain date, I kept putting it off until, yep, I missed that date.

But, in an effort to redeem some of these little budget bloopers, I cashed a $5 rebate check (from Pyrex bowls we bought at Bed Bath and Beyond) that was nearing its expiration. It actually was a chore for me to cash it. I’m so used to depositing our checks via our USAA apps on our phones (and before that we scanned them in using our home computer), and to go to the bank for a measly five bucks was an annoyance. Especially when it was about 110 degrees outside and I had other errands to run in the precious window of Mary’s nap (Mark was with her at home).

But I got those five dollars. 🙂

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Finance Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to it adds up

  1. danardoyle says:

    I’m right there with you. I met with a friend Saturday morning, and she told me all about “couponing.” With working, I’m not sure I have the time to clip and organize, but I realize that I’d better make some time, because I am literally throwing money away. Everything is so expensive nowadays!

Leave a Reply

