“on a quest for happiness”

In his book Rediscover Catholicism, Matthew Kelly talks about humans quest for happiness. (I’m finally reading it. Not stopping after 50 pages, but reading it until I’m done and then maybe again!)

Our new priest also talked about it in his homily this evening.

Father said we are hard-wired for God.

Mr. Kelly talks about how God created us to yearn for him.

 

It’s so easy to forget those things, even though they really are obvious.

Aren’t we happiest when we are doing God’s will? When we are loving others?

We’re not happiest when filling our lives and houses with material possessions. We’re not happiest when ignoring those around us to play on our phones and watch tv.

I’ve always thought (and maybe always will) that the song “and they’ll know we are Christians by our love, by our love” is pretty lame. But it’s how it should be. My hope is that all Catholics are seen as loving people. As welcoming people. My hope is to be seen as that by my daughter. And not because I want to be seen as good, but because I want to live my life praising God, and I want others to as well.

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Catholic Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

