3 favorite bible verses

Dana at Catholic Working Mom tagged me, so here goes:

1) Psalm 139:13: “You formed my inmost being; you knit me in my mother’s womb.” This obviously ties in with being pro-life. It also adds to the mushiness I feel about being a mother. I remember meditating on this Psalm during my confirmation retreat nearly ten years ago.

2) Matthew 5:48: “So be perfect, just as your heavenly Father is perfect.” Perfection may be hard to attain, but if He commands it…I guess I better try. šŸ˜‰

3) Luke 24:31-32: “And it happened that, while he was with them at table, he took bread, said the blessing, broke it, and gave it to them. With that their eyes were opened and they recognized him, but he vanished from their sight.” At a recent conference, the story of the Road to Emmaus was discussed. I learned that the two travelers were Cleopas (as mentioned) and his wife (as deduced by scholars). I learned of the lovely parallel between their eyes being opened here to Adam’s and Eve’s eyes being opened to their nakedness. And not only do I enjoy learning more about things like that, but I enjoy how these particular lines focus on the Eucharist.

Now I get to pick 3 bloggers to tag…

First my sister Kate. I wonder if Psalm 118:29 will make the cut?! šŸ˜‰

And my sister Marianne. Maybe a future Themed Thursday will be on the B-I-B-L-E?

And Jamie. Maybe she can find a verse that references a mustache, or facial hair in general?

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

