housework

I scrubbed our shower floor yesterday. Many times. For a long time. I even took “before”, “during”, and “after” photos with our DSLR, but I’m on my phone now and maybe sharing isn’t the best idea anyways. The shower looked terrible, and while lots cleaner, it’s still not perfect. I just couldn’t handle any more bleach fumes, plus my time was limited to Mary’s naps.

I sent my brother-in-law the photos and told him he wasn’t getting his deposit back. šŸ˜‰ I’m hilarious.

Although that mess wasn’t really mine, I did spend a good amount of time also cleaning the tub and shower that I have been using (as well as Mark and Mary). I should really make those scrubbings more routine because it didn’t look too pretty either.

I’ve often thought of making a schedule for the chores I need to accomplish. I’ve even made one or two. But have I followed through? Nope.

I’m not sure why I think I may actually stick to it now…well, I know some reasons I guess. One is that Mary is actually napping quite nicely now. She’ll usually be in her crib twice a day, for at least an hour each nap. That’s a lot of time I can use! Also, we’ve been talking about me trying to pick up more shifts, and I don’t want our household to suffer if that happens.

Right now it’s ten at night, and Mark is crashed out on the sofa. Yesterday was when he worked his second job, and being up for around 24 hours always throws him off. Mary is asleep in my arms. I’m sitting in our orange recliner in her nursery. Attempt one at putting her in the crib failed. When an attempt is successful, I’ll go finish cleaning up the kitchen. We had five friends over for dinner, so there’s a few more dishes than usual. I’d really enjoy watching tv in bed and having seconds of dessert, but in the morning I’ll be glad that I have a clean kitchen.

Oh. Okay. I’ll post a “before” picture of the shower. I took some with my phone. Don’t toss your cookies! šŸ˜‰

20110601-100609.jpg

Do you use a schedule for housework?

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Wednesday's work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to housework

  1. Jamie Lynn says:

    I don’t use a schedule, but I’m also not a very good housekeeper. I can keep the kitchen fairly clean and I vacuum the living room/dining room, but our bedrooms are scary. The bathroom looks clean but needs a good scrubbing. Maybe today I should use naptime wisely.

    • maggie says:

      Yes, I’m not a good housekeeper either. I really hope to hire someone to help out whenever I go back to work more permanently. Or maybe by then Mary will be old enough to mop. šŸ˜‰

      Mary’s taking her first nap right now, and it was my first opportunity to finish cleaning up the kitchen. But once that was done I rewarded myself with eating (alone!) and blogging.

  2. Marianne says:

    A cleaning schedule is on my Thirty before 30 list. You wouldn’t think it’d be that hard to implement but it is! I need to decide what chores, what frequency, what format, etc. I don’t think I knew you wanted to do one too but now that I know that we should get something made up soon for us both to try out. Deal?

Leave a Reply

