resisting temptation

I think I’m influenced more by outside forces than I’d like to admit.

Last week, Mark and I went to to Target (with the baby, of course) to pick up her prescriptions. We also needed sandwich bread and wanted to pick up some other bread to eat that night with our planned dinner.

We wandered around most of the store, picking up some other household and grocery items. The only “fun” item that we purchased was a frame on clearance for $2.48. I kept debating on whether to buy it or not, decided I had an idea of what I could do with it, and took that money out of my monthly “allowance”. (I should have a DIY post about the frame sometime…)

But, the trip to Target to pick up two prescriptions (which, by the way, paid for themselves thanks to the ever-popular coupons that give you a $10 giftcard with a new prescription), almost cost us an unplanned $12 or so.

Why?

Because we saw an endcap with giftcards to various retailers and restaurants, including Chick-fil-A. And once we saw that, we both had yummy chicken sandwiches and waffle fries on our brain. Conveniently enough, there’s a Chick-fil-A in the same shopping center as Target.

For a few steps past that endcap, we discussed grabbing dinner there on our way home. “Oh, that sounds good.” “We can eat there, if you pay out of your allowance. ;)” But, then, we managed to talk ourselves back into our original dinner plan – spaghetti. We’d already picked up the bread and had it in our cart. We had leftover sausage already cooked in the fridge. We had leftover sauce in the fridge. Heck, we had leftover salad in the fridge! The hardest part of the whole meal would be to boil some spaghetti.

I’m really glad we chose the cheaper meal. Although, I’m thinking Chick-fil-A sounds pretty good again right now!! 😛

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Finance Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to resisting temptation

  1. Brooke G says:

    Target is my downfall…… I can’t get out of there without going WAY over budget. Every stinkin’ time 😀

Leave a Reply

