nursing to sleep

Sometimes I wonder if I would be trying to get out of the habit of nursing Mary to sleep if I wasn’t so concerned about her weight.

I wish I could lie her in the crib, drowsy, but awake, and have her put herself to sleep. It happens (unplanned) about once a week. Normally I nurse her to sleep for naps and bedtime, then put her in the crib while she’s still asleep. The past two nights, she wakes up screaming in about 15 minutes. As soon as I pick her up, she burps and settles down. I’ve tried burping her when she’s asleep, but it doesn’t seem to work. I’ve also just tried rocking her back to sleep, but she typically fusses and keeps rooting.

She’s sleeping on my chest now, in the recliner. She’ll probably end up in bed with me before midnight…

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Motherhood Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to nursing to sleep

  1. naomi says:

    I know what you mean – my little one does it about once a week. She’s 17 mths now and used to do it alot when she was smaller because she had whooping cough and lost her ability to settle herself. Since she’s started preschool she’s gotten back into the habit…

  2. Uh..so Hannah fell asleep without nursing once yesterday and twice today. Hmmm…I could get used to this! But I’m not gonna get my hopes up just yet. Mary’s your first…spoil her rotten! 😉

Leave a Reply

