stay-at-home family

All four of us (Mark, Mary, Matt, and myself) have been staying at home, thanks to this crazy weather. Matt’s classes have been cancelled for the past three days (I’m guessing tomorrow too), and thankfully Mark had his two regular nights off (back to work tonight).

Yesterday, I imposed a bit of a media-fast for myself. I say a bit, because I really still watched a fair amount of tv (Angels and Demons with Mark) and played on my phone while nursing Mary. I’d really like to get in the habit of limiting how much time I spend online and watching tv, and will work out the logistics soon.

Here’s a look at some of Wednesday…

Wearing my new cute rubber gloves make doing dishes slightly more fun.

I managed to yield 8 muffins, when the mix read 6. YES!

I made hot chocolate without a mix for the first time. Yummy yum.

I made brownies and gave Mark support as he mixed up some snow ice cream.

Other things of note: I didn’t nap (but Mary did twice in her crib!), Mark and I made a noticeable dent in the mountain of clothes that have taken over our room, I got in a 20 minute elliptical workout, I showered!, I put on jeans and a sweater (I normally live in sweatpants and nursing tanks unless I leave the house), I made potato salad to accompany our simple hotdog dinner, and I even vacummed a bit. I love feeling productive. It’s much better than realizing at the end of the day that my biggest accomplishment was reading too many blogs. 😉

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Wednesday's work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to stay-at-home family

  1. Kate says:

    I like your use of the word yield. And the fact that you make potato salad in the winter.

    Wouldn’t it be awesome if mom can still get here on Saturday and we can spend the whole day shopping? Praying for a big melt on Friday! : )

    • maggie says:

      Yeah, it’d be fun. Probably not too likely, though, huh, since more snow is apparently coming? Maybe we could all Skype and online shop together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

