Marian feast days

January 1st is not only New Year’s Day, but it’s also the Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God.

(source)

This year was the first that I can ever recall not going to mass. (It wasn’t a day of obligation due to it’s falling on a Saturday, but the real reason I didn’t go is because I was working.)

A new tradition (I can call it a tradition if we’ve done it twice, right?) in our house on Marian feast days is to include a “Hail Mary” after our normal before meals prayer. I like that small acknowledgment, but I found another idea to add in the future.

Awhile back at my mother-in-law’s house, I was looking through a Catholic children’s catalog (anyone need a priestly playset?), and saw banner kits. One was for First Communion and the other was for Mary. The point is to hang it in your house on her feast days. I love that idea! We may not get a kit, but just buy some felt and ask for help from one of my artistic brother-in-laws. Although, my mom is pretty good in the religious banner department. Check out what she helped me make back in the day for my First Communion…

…and just kidding. I’m pretty sure I know where this picture is (in the closet of our office), and I had plans to scan it in and all that jazz, but frankly this having a sick baby thing has cramped my style. Not that I really mind. 🙂 And so I’m gonna go ahead and publish sans photo.

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Catholic Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marian feast days

  1. Love the felt banner by a BIL idea!

Leave a Reply

