anniversary dinner

Last year, on our first anniversary, I really didn’t even see my husband. He worked third shift, so he got home when I was asleep (two a.m.) and left for work again when I was at work (around four p.m.). I had to work that day because it was the grand opening of my pharmacy! Well, not my pharmacy, but I was the manager. (Guess I technically still am…until my leave is over in four weeks.)

When I got the manager (aka Pharmacist-In-Charge, aka PIC) job, my sweet husband made me this:

When I took the photos, he asked me not to share them. Is there a statute of limitations on such a request? 😉 Well, I think it’s adorable and this might just be a way to see if he even reads my blog!

Because our anniversary fell on a Sunday and florists don’t deliver on Sundays, he had these lovelies delivered to me at work the day before:


They were absolutely gorgeous. The photo was taken about a week later when I brought them home and they’d begun to droop.

We later celebrated our anniversary with a short camping trip.

We had a grand ol’ time. And nine months later we had another grand ol’ time. 🙂

Anyways, for our second anniversary, we had a low-key evening at home. My brother-in-law made himself scarce and I cooked and baked up a storm in the kitchen. I am no Becky Home Ec-ky by any means, in fact I never took Home Economics in school, so the evening really stretched my skills.

I made a cake from scratch for the first time.

I followed the recipe from the bundt cake pan packaging. It was fun to make and looked pretty yummy during the process, and I suppose it looked yummy when I took it out of the oven. However, it looked like a decent mess when all was said and done. I should have waited longer before taking it out of the pan, but I was impatient. I was also impatient as I frosted it (frosting from a can). I think the conclusion was that it tasted good, but almost like brownies. Which, in my opinion, isn’t what cake should taste like. It was super rich, pretty dense, but still moist.

For dinner we had chicken cordon bleu, baked potato, and salad.

We did not have asparagus with roasted sesame seeds because I forgot to buy asparagus. Which was a little sad, not because I love asparagus, but because I love our asparagus plate.

I’d never made chicken cordon bleu before. I looked at a few recipes online and created a hybrid of them.

To make it super simple, I simply did this…

  • Cut a pocket in  fresh boneless, skinless chicken breasts.
  • Coated them with melted butter.
  • Covered them in a mixture of plain breadcrumbs and Italian seasoning.
  • Baked at 325 for ten minutes.
  • Stuffed them with deli ham wrapped in swiss cheese.
  • Baked for another 15-20 minutes.

Delicious!

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Cooking/Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to anniversary dinner

  1. What a great entry! You’re a good wifey!

Leave a Reply

