5k

One week ago, I started the Couch to 5k training program. Initially, I planned to run a 5k on October 30th. This was a logical choice because it’s my last Saturday before I go back to work, and once I’m working I’ll be scheduled every Saturday except for very rare ones (we’re talking a friend’s wedding or my grandma’s Christmas).

The not-so-fun part of choosing to run on October 30th was that it wouldn’t give me enough time to do the training as they have it laid out. Each week has three workouts, and last week, I did five. For the most part, I felt pretty good while running (or at least after), but it was definitely tough. My body can feel the extra weight, and my lungs seem to have forgotten their capability. In all honesty, for most of last week, I cringed when I walked because my legs hurt so much, but it was that almost enjoyable pain.

Anyways, my sister found out about a 5k on Thanksgiving Day! I’m going to run in it instead. Not only will I have more time to train, but my husband will be able to run with me. I can’t think of anything that would make me more likely to run the whole thing, than to have him there with me.

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5k

  1. Melanie says:

    Way to go! You’re inspiring!

Leave a Reply

