getting into shape

It’s been a long, long time since I’ve been in shape. High school, maybe? Or when I played intramurals in college?

I realize I’m only eight weeks post-partum, but I don’t like the extra weight sticking around. I gained 40-45 pounds while pregnant, and I was already probably ten pounds more than I’d like.

The three adults in our house (my husband, my brother-in-law, and myself) are in a weight loss challenge. It was a struggle to come up with the terms, but we finally settled on the loser (meaning the one who lost the least amount) has to paint the dining room ceiling. (When we had a minor renovation done, the contractor painted part of the ceiling the wrong color.) Also, the two losers (the two who lost the least amount) have to clean up after our Halloween party. The challenge will end on Halloween and is based on percentage lost. So far, I’ve lost almost 4% of my body weight.

I used a dry erase board calendar to create a little motivation for us:

We each have a color. We get a check mark for working out. The magnets can be used once a week for a rest day. And the photos? One is my husband’s high school senior picture, and the one of me is from when I graduated from pharmacy school. They’re just for giggles.

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to getting into shape

  1. Jamie Lynn says:

    I gained 60 lbs with Nate! Losing the first 40 was easy, but the last 15-20 has posted up residency in my body. I really want to lost it before I get pregnant again. Maybe you will motivate me to finally stick with it!

  2. Except the winner should get something….like a million dollars! 🙂

  3. Pingback: four days until weigh-in | I want the sweet life.

Leave a Reply

