…another baby.

Not necessarily tomorrow or anything.

The first thing I said after giving birth to Mary was “I could do that again.”

(I know I have to give credit to the epidural on that one.)

If I think really hard, I can remember some terrible things about being pregnant. But I’ve mostly forgotten them. And if they happen again, they’ll probably slip my mind again. Now, Mark’s another story. He vividly remembers Pregnant Maggie.

Before I have another kid, I really want to be in better physical shape. I think that would’ve made things a little bit easier on my body. I also don’t want to work a full-time job up until I deliver again, but that’s pretty unlikely.

My mom had all six of us kids close together. My oldest brother was born in April ’76 and I pulled up the rear in January ’85. I’m not sure we’ll end up having six children, but however many we have, I’d like them close in age.

We practice Natural Family Planning (NFP). I love it for a lot of reasons, one being that we always talk about kiddos and the future and what we think is good for our family. It’d be so easy to get on birth control, live life, and then all of a sudden realize, “oh, didn’t we want another?” And they take forty weeks to grow, you know. Plus the time it takes to conceive. We were fortunate with Mary, I think. After one year of marriage, when I had just gotten a great job, when we thought Mark’s job was secure (yes, thought), we decided to stop trying to avoid. We weren’t necessarily trying to achieve, but we charted, and ignored the chart. I got pregnant that first cycle.

I’m scared it won’t be as easy the second time around. Maybe it will. I did learn however, at that first lovely ultrasound when we saw Mary’s heartbeat, that I have cysts on my ovaries. I guess that means I have PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome), although I fortunately don’t have all of the symptoms. Because I charted my fertility with NFP for nearly two years before getting pregnant (I charted before the wedding to make sure I knew what was going on with my body), I know that I normally ovulate every cycle. So maybe I shouldn’t be scared?

Anyways. I want another baby. Someday. Whatever day they arrive. I’m thankful to be open to life.

About maggie

thirty-something. working on life.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

